Tips for creating a beautiful one-page portfolio site
Many global web design trends can be applied to single-page users, but they also have their own unique features. Such projects are specific enough, so it’s useful to read something…

Continue reading →

Interesting visual design trends 2020
At the end of the year, 2 types of notes often appear on blogs - either the results of the previous one, or forecasts for the next. That is why…

Continue reading →

5 lessons from Japanese website designs
Back in 2014, we published an interesting selection of designs for Japanese anime sites. Surely you realize that the work there is quite specific and original. They are very different…

Continue reading →

Google Chrome and automatic user authorization

The Google Chrome browser (based on Chromium) uses WebKit engine to render pages. The first version for Windows was released back on 12/11/2008, and now it is one of the most popular browsers in the world. You can download it here https://chromeum.ru and at the same time read about all its chips. However, recent news regarding the preservation of confidential user data has led many to think about its security. It’s all about secret authorization.

The fact is that in the 69th version of Chrome, the Sync auto-authorization function was enabled, the consent to the use of which was not requested. With its help, information from all services is synchronized and integrated with Google account (i.e., after authorization, the data goes to the company’s server). In previous versions of the browser, there was no such chip.

Synchronization is carried out using MS ExchangeActiveSync protocol. For clarity: thanks to it, your gadget (mobile, tablet) sends alerts about the availability of a new mail message. The protocol is proprietary (not proprietary, for its use it is necessary to make licensing fees from Microsoft).

The new synchronization mechanism has existed for a long time, but earlier it worked without automatic downloading of browser data to the company’s servers. Nevertheless, when such infa arrived in the media, many users of the product began to express their dissatisfaction with this fact: the company can bind the browser to user traffic, inflicting a blow on privacy.

The innovation was rated as a violation of user privacy. It seems that Google wants to accurately match the pages you visit on the network with certain devices. The corporation explains this by the fact that this type of authorization is necessary for security. With its help in joint gadgets, you can prevent such situations when information from the browser of one person is merged into the account of another.

However, not all such explanations were satisfied. This is due to the fact that the corporation did not initially apply for permission to enable this option, even worse, – it did it secretly, without particularly advertising. If a person logs into his Google profile, authorization occurs in other services. At the same time, the corporation receives both web browsing histories and payment information, logins, passwords and other information.

Google Company
The first to notice these innovations was crypto expert Matthew Green. According to him, when a user visits an arbitrary Google service:

automatic authorization will occur;
data will be synchronized;
as well as transferred to the server of the corporation;
in addition, the visit history will be “leaked” to the server, which threatens confidentiality.
Green announced that the updated interface deliberately misleads users. Based on it, it is not clear whether data synchronization has occurred. At the same time, information is automatically sent to the corporate server. In the first versions of the browser, it was possible to access information without entering a user account. Thus, users did not worry about the data they viewed on Google’s servers. Naturally, in this case, information could appear there only at the entrance to your account, i.e. after the confirmation of the agreement on “data synchronization” between the browser and other services.

Later, Google admitted that the really 69th version of Google Chrome authorizes automatically and unauthorized. But in order to reassure many of her fans and not force them to use old versions of the browser, she promised to add in the next release the ability to turn off automatic authorization. Many months after this incident, Chrome still holds a leading position in the browser market, and this story has not ruined its reputation.

The new synchronization mechanism has existed for a long time, but earlier it worked without automatic downloading of browser data to the company’s servers. Nevertheless, when such infa arrived in the media, many users of the product began to express their dissatisfaction with this fact: the company can bind the browser to user traffic, inflicting a blow on privacy.

6 Tips for Creating One-Page Websites
One-page websites are becoming popular and fashionable now - there is no doubt about it, although they are not suitable for every topic or organization. However, if everything is done…

...

Web 2.0 style design: simplicity as art
Perfection is achieved not when there is already nothing to add, but when nothing can be taken away (Antoine de Saint-Exupery. "Planet of people", 1939) Far in the fall of…

...

Web site design trends and trends
It was originally planned to post a translation of an English-language article on web design trends in 2017, but after studying various sources, we decided to slightly change the concept…

...

Thousands of dollars of passive income for web designers
Skilled web designers who want to receive passive income are now in a rather favorable position. As more and more companies enter the Internet market, the work of web developers,…

...